How to Cook Corn With No Microwave

The grocery store near me had this great deal on corn – 3 for $1 – so of course I bought three. I’ve never been a major fan of corn but I figured if it was cheap, I might as well start liking it.

The only problem was my apartment didn’t have a microwave at the time (we’ve now gained a microwave).¬†Luckily I have a roommate who knows a thing or two about corn, so she told me that I could cook corn on the stove. And it actually tastes better than in the microwave! Here’s how:

photo 1 (3)

Step 1: Peel all the husks off the corn, including the little stringy parts.

Step 2: Break off the corn handle.

Step 3: Put water in a pot large enough to hold the corn. Then put the corn in the water. If you only have a smaller pot and the corn doesn’t fit, you can always break the corn in two.

Step 4: Bring the water to a boil, so there are bubbles. After the water is bubbling, your corn should be done.

Step 5: Drain the water in the pot. Add butter or salt to taste. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

